CHARTER TOWNSHIP OF CLAYTON PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES DECEMBER 19, 2023

ROLL CALL

Members Present: Kevin DePottey, Rick Caruso, Richard Derby, Jon Mieczkowski, George Sippert, Kathleen Norris

Members Absent: Corey Potter

Others Present: Ted Henry/Building Official, Zoning Administrator Ken Tucker/Township Attorney

APPROVAL OF PROPOSED AGENDA

Action Taken: Motion by Derby, supported by Mieczkowski, to approve the proposed agenda for the December 19, 2023, Clayton Township Planning Commission meeting.

MOTION CARRIED.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: NOVEMBER 28, 2023

ACTION TAKEN: Motion by Mieczkowski, supported by Derby to approve minutes of November 28, 2023.

MOTION CARRIED.

COMMUNICATION:

REPORT OF OFFICERS AND ZONING ADMINISTRATOR:

PUBLIC COMMENT:

No Comment

NEW BUSINESS

Public Hearing starts at 6:01 p.m. for zoning change to only multi family for parcel #04-13-400-011

PUBLIC COMMENT:

Two different residents from Saratoga Estates spoke against re-zoning and allowing proposed project. Discussion on only re-zoning Crouter's 17 acres after discussion on Fick's property not having all information in packet.

Closed public comment at 6:41 p.m.

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS FROM BOARD MEMBERS ON REZONING PARCEL #04-13-400-011

Lots of discussion by Commission on the following topics dealing with rezoning on parcel #04-13-400-011:

- 1. Traffic impact
- 2. Project completed in phases
- 3. Streets complete in phase one?
- 4. Will 24" water line be extended for project

Action Taken: Motion by Caruso, supported by Sippert to recommend parcel #04-13-400-011 to be re-zoned to multifamily only (the 17 acres). Roll Call Vote: 6 Yes/0 No

OLD BUSINESS

Postpone Alternate Energy to future meeting

FUTURE ITEMS

ADDITIONAL COMMENTS FROM BOARD MEMBERS

Rick Caruso – Township Board sends Land Division back to Planning Commission to set and hold public hearing

Richard Derby requesting educational books on Planning Commission member guidance.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No Comment

ADJOURNMENT

Action Taken: Motion by Norris, supported by Derby, to adjourn the Planning Commission meeting at 7:22 p.m.

Kevin DePottey, Chairperson

Rick Caruso, Secretary